Nobel prize in Chemistry for cryo-EM! – University of Copenhagen

CFIM > Newslist > Nobel prize in Chemist...

04 October 2017

Nobel prize in Chemistry for cryo-EM!

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017 to

Jacques Dubochet, University of Lausanne, Switzerland

Joachim Frank, Columbia University, New York, USA

Richard Henderson, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK

"for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution"

See the full statement here.

Congratulations to the recipients of the prize! It's always exciting when a technique in microscopy gets awarded such a prize. Cryo-EM is done at CFIM on a number of instruments.